A Do-It-Yourself Guide to Weight Watchers

I met Mary Catherine through my boyfriend, Christian. She has been a faithful reader of my blog, and a couple weeks ago she left a comment about Weight Watchers and how she was doing it on her own. I was interested in what she had found, so she was kind enough to send me her thoughts, including all of the websites she found. I’ve turned her information into a question-and-answer post. I’ll include my thoughts at the bottom of this post.

What drew you to Weight Watchers?
The main reason I chose something like this was to help me better understand and control my portions.  Basically, I know how to eat healthy and lose weight (I’ve done it before), but I’ve just gotten lazy in the past few years (having a husband with a REALLY ridiculously high metabolic rate who can eat anything will do that) and gained much of the weight back.  I’m on the slow road to getting healthy again, primarily for the benefit of my husband and our future children.  I need something like this to help in the area of self-discipline.

I’ve found everything through online searches and have gotten a little bit of input from my mom and some friends who are in the program.

What is Weight Watchers?
The basic premise of WW is that each person is allotted a certain number of ‘points’ per day depending a variety of factors (age, weight, activity level, etc.)

How many points should I eat in a day?
Here is a link to a calculator that helps you determine how many points you will need in a day:
http://ronisweigh.com/ronis-resources/wwp-calculators

I would recommend trying out this number of points for a week to see how it goes and then adjust as necessary, but I wouldn’t go more than one or two points above or below that number.  You may find that you are not actually losing weight or are really unbearably hungry even while eating the right foods and drinking enough water.  In addition to these daily points, each person is allowed 35 flex points for the week.  On certain weeks, I save them up for the weekend when the husband and I are more likely to go out or eat junk food.  Some weeks I need all the points I can get during each day. You can use them (or not use them) anyway you want.

How do I know how many points a certain food is worth?
WW points are determined by 3 nutritional factors: calories, fat, and fiber.  Basically, every 50 calories is a point, every 12 grams of fat is a point, and every 5 grams of fiber takes away a point.  Fiber is good in WW.  For packaged foods I can use the nutritional labels to find this information; otherwise I use mydailyplate.com to calculate.  Just make sure that you take note of the portion amount that you consume.

Here is a nice online calculator for determining point value:
http://www.meganandjack.com/points_calculator.htm

I don’t know how many calories, how much fiber or how much fat is in a certain food. How can I find out?
Here are a few other helpful links.  The first is a website with quite a few generic food items, along with portion and point value.  It’s usually fairly accurate, though I sometimes I double check with www.mydailyplate.com and the calculator just to make sure.  The second is a great resource for restaurant eating.  There’s really no way to know exactly how accurate this is, so I pretty much just go with what it says.
http://quiddity.cc/rachel/diet/wwfoods.htm
http://www.dwlz.com

I exercise a lot. How do I factor that in?
Basically, you earn points for physical activity.  I’m not really sure how to measure intensity, but I am usually fairly conservative in my estimations. The online point value calculator I mentioned before also has an activity calculator. http://www.meganandjack.com/points_calculator.htm

How do I keep up with points?
Obviously, you can just keep a journal with a running tally down the side, but I found this blog with a great spreadsheet file that I’ve adapted for my own personal use. On the left side, I keep my prayer list and keep up with what I’ve read that week. Basically, this just helps me to keep my focus on God’s grace and His desires for me to care for my body, and less on my own will and vain desires.
http://www.starling-fitness.com/archives/2007/06/15/weight-watcher-form

I was going to wait until the beginning of November to start Mary Catherine’s on-your-own Weight Watchers plan, but I decided that was just an excuse to procrastinate about it. Each Friday, along with my fitness diary, I’ll post my Weight Watchers points for each day of the week. I’m hoping that will keep me accountable!

If you have any questions for Mary Catherine, you can leave a comment on this post or e-mail me and I can get you in touch with her.

Have you used Weight Watchers? Was it a success? How do you think it would work to do it on your own?

16 Comments

Filed under guest posts, weight watchers

16 responses to “A Do-It-Yourself Guide to Weight Watchers

  1. I love it! If only I had a real blog, I could be a guest post. I guess this is nearly as good (and also inspiration to start thinking more about my own writing).

  2. Pingback: Mary Catherine’s Baked Macaroni and Cheese « brown eyed basics

  3. Alexwebmaster

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

  4. Thanks in support of sharing such a good thinking, piece of writing is fastidious, thats why i have read it completely

  5. A person essentially help to make severely posts I might state.
    This is the very first time I frequented your web page and so far?
    I amazed with the analysis you made to create this actual submit amazing.
    Magnificent activity!

  6. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of
    hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods
    to prevent hackers?

  7. This site truly has all the information I wanted about this subject
    and didn’t know who to ask.

  8. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that
    I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  9. Hola! I’ve been reading your web site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic job!

  10. I just like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at again here frequently.

    I’m relatively sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  11. Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have
    any issues with hackers? My last blog (wordpress)
    was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due
    to no data backup. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  12. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your website and detailed information
    you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old
    rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  13. We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your website provided us with helpful info
    to work on. You’ve done a formidable process and our whole neighborhood will be thankful to you.

  14. I’d like to find out more? I’d want to find out more details.

  15. Fastidious replies in return of this matter with firm
    arguments and explaining the whole thing on the topic of that.

  16. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?

    My website goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful
    blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

