Ch-ch-ch-change Change Changes…

Something strange is not only afoot at the Circle K, but also at this here blog.

I’m guessing maybe one of you got the movie reference (Hey, Christian).

(For those of you who aren’t dating Christian and haven’t been forced to watch Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure, I’m sorry.)

If you’re observant, you’ll realize it’s Friday, and this is not a typical Friday post. Normally, I’m regaling you with my fitness adventures, but ever since plantaar fasciitis got hold of me, fitness hasn’t really been all that exciting. I’ve been going to the gym just as much, but honestly, telling you about riding the bike at the gym is about as boring as riding the bike at the gym.

So we’re taking a break from Fitness Friday. Instead, I’d like to announce some new features of brown eyed basics that I hope you’ll enjoy.

More frequent posting.
I sometimes feel bound to only post once a day, even when there are little things I’d like to share. I will still continue to post at least once a day Monday-Saturday, but I may throw in small bits of encouragement on Sundays, and I may post a few times at week in the evenings.

Blogs of the week.
In an effort to encourage community around here, I’ll be choosing a blog to highlight every week. I’ll write a short synposis of the blog at the beginning of the week, and you’ll be able to see the RSS feed for that blog over on the sidebar. I hope this will encourage you to check out some of my favorite blogs!

Letters from Lisbet.
Every other week or so, I’ll be sharing a letter I’ve received from the little girl I sponsor through Compassion. If you read my guest post at Gather Little by Little or my short blurb on Blog Action Day, you know that Compassion is very close to my heart. I hope that by sharing the letters and pictures she sends me, you’ll develop a passion for releasing children from poverty in Jesus’ name, too. I’ve got the child packet of a little girl named Herieth who needs a sponsor within the next three weeks, and there are plenty more where she comes from!

Notable podcasts.
I just started getting into podcasts. My job is such that when I’m doing certain tasks, I’m able to listen to my iPod, so I’ve been taking advantage of sermons that are available online. Of course, there are more than just sermons online, but I’ve been so encouraged to listen to preachers like Dr. Sinclair Ferguson. Each week, I’ll share at least one that God really used to influence me.

More money-related articles.
I’ve mentioned how much I enjoy personal finance blogs. I don’t necessarily want to create me own personal finance blog, but the older I get, the bigger role money plays in my life, and I’ve got a few posts on the drawing board. I hope these will be helpful for those of you who are like me – not looking for complicated articles, but rather, small tips that have helped me financially. This is, after all, brown eyed basics.

Recipes galore.
I have a planner where I try to plan for future blog posts. I generally plan two weeks or so in advance (although I don’t write them that far), so over on the margin of the monthly calendar I jot down little ideas. I’ve been trying a lot of new recipes lately and don’t want to wait to write about them until I’ve forgotten the whole experience of making them, so I’m hoping to post at least one new recipe every week.

Online how-to’s.
My post on using Google Calendar remains, as it did on my other blog, my most popular post so far. Apparently I’m not the only one obsessed with organization. I hope to do some more posts similar to that on other online applications I’ve found useful. If you’ve got one in mind you’d like to see, shoot me an e-mail and let me know.

It’s kind of hard to believe that I’m actually planning on doing more here than I’m already doing, because sometimes I feel like it’s hard enough to think of one post for each day, but I feel like I’ve got a lot of momentum right now and I’m excited about the future. If Feedburner would just start showing that I have more than one reader, life would be perfect.

In other news, I’ve got a new blog in the works, but it likely won’t be ready for a long time. I’ll be talking more about it in the weeks ahead as Christian and I – yep, a mutual project – prepare for the grand unveiling. (And no, we’re not engaged. Not yet, anyway.)

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow for the last installment of the Great October Blog Purge!

2 Comments

Filed under general

2 responses to “Ch-ch-ch-change Change Changes…

  1. I’m glad I’m subscribed. I wouldn’t want to miss all the extras that are on their way.

    I look forward to all the features you have planned.

  2. Thanks, Rodney! I’m excited about them, too!

Leave a Reply

