Cilantro Bean Salad

Probably one of the most difficult areas to conquer is food – whether it’s eating healthy, figuring out what to cook for dinner or trying to please everybody’s varying tastes.

At my house, everybody has their own dislikes. I don’t really like tomatoes. My youngest sister hates most vegetables. My other sister doesn’t like red meat. It makes it tough.

That’s what’s most magical about this dip. Before I tried it, I refused to touch black beans or tomatoes. Now I’m eating black beans with much more frequency, and I actually kind of enjoy the tomatoes in this dip. If a food can overcome my picky eating, trust me. It’s worth trying.

Cilantro bean salad

1 can corn, drained, OR 2 cups frozen corn, thawed
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 large tomato, chopped OR 1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
3/4 cup chopped peppers (any color – I used red and green)
1/2 cup chopped red onion (you could use any kind of onion, but red tastes best)
1/2 cup Italian salad dressing
1/2 cup minced fresh cilantro
3/4 tsp. hot pepper sauce (I like Texas Pete)
1/2 tsp. garlic powder

Mix first five ingredients together in large bowl. Mix last four ingredients together in smaller bowl. Pour contents of smaller bowl into larger bowl. Mix well and refrigerate. Best if refrigerated for several hours before serving.

As if the ingredients weren’t simple enough, the instructions really are that easy.

It’s delicious with a handful of tortilla chips, as shown, but I’ve gotten pretty creative with how I eat it. Sometimes I heat it up and mix in a little sour cream before I dip my chips. I like to put it on a tortilla with cheese for a  quick and healthy lunch. When we have enchiladas, I spoon some on top. Sometimes I even put it on my ice cream.

Just kidding. But if I thought it would taste good, I would try it.

A final note: You might want to double or triple the recipe. It goes pretty fast.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

