The Basics: Water

Yesterday’s basic leads pretty well into today’s, but this one can stand alone pretty well, too.

Drinking water every day is one of my basics because it makes me feel so darn good. I don’t have to worry about how my body is going to handle all the sugar that’s often found in Coke.

By “coke,” I mean all kinds of “soda,” because I am from The South.

Yesterday I was talking to someone who mentioned that he’d recently given up Mountain Dew, but it was hard because it was his favorite drink. I only drink Mountain Dew when I go to Taco Bell (it’s a strange association, I know), but I’m the same way with Cherry Coke. I will fight all kinds of temptation to drink Sprite, Root Beer, etc. but if you pop a cold Cherry Coke in front of me, I will cave (note: this is not a challenge for anyone to try).

Now that I’m getting up three times a week to work out at 5:30 a.m., I’m trying more than ever to make it worth it. I’m watching what I eat, and, almost as important, what I drink. If you start reading the labels on soda cans and juice bottles, you’ll be surprised. You could eat two Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups in lieu of that juice, and friends, that is worth it.

I know what you’re thinking. But I don’t like water! It’s hard for me to look at an entire Nalgene and think about drinking it all. Instead I just have a cup that holds about 10 oz. I fill it with ice, then fill it with water. And I drink all the water as fast as I can (within 15-20 minutes). Then I go refill it. Because it doesn’t have water in it much, the ice lasts for a long time. And there’s just something better about cold water. And it’s easier to do things in small amounts.

And if you’re exercising, it’s even more important. You can drink Gatorade, but that’s got a lot of sugar in it. And if you’re drinking any coke at all during the day, you have to drink an equal amount of water just to cancel out the dehydrating effects of the water (At least that’s what my high school cross country coach told us. I never challenged him on it.).

I started with an all-water diet for a week, and by the end of the week, I was craving water. Now, when I realize I’m thirsty, water sounds like the best thing.

Except when I’m at Moe’s. Then I get Cherry Coke.

Or Taco Bell.

Photo by drummerguy8706
3 Comments

Filed under the basics

3 responses to “The Basics: Water

  1. Jess

    Totally unrelated, but I was watching Jon and Kate plus 8 last night and she had gone to get a haircut but she had a drink from Moe’s! I recognized the cup and for whatever reason, I thought of you. Mm and now I’m thinking about El Burrito too…

    I think half the things I love about Columbia are restaurants!

  2. I already loved Kate, but now I love her even more. I bet it wasn’t cherry coke, though… she probably drinks diet. And if they had organic diet coke, she would drink that.

    When you are coming back to Columbia, btw?

  3. Rob

    Soda is almost the worst thing you can drink when you are trying to stay healthy. Probably the only thing worse is eating french fries!

Leave a Reply

