The Basics: Keeping Your Area Clean

If there’s one thing that motivates me to get everything else done, it’s keeping my room clean. For some people, maybe the bedroom is not that motivator. It might be the kitchen or the bathroom or the laundry room.

But for me, making sure my bed is made, my clothes are all put away and my desk is clear is a surefire way to make the day get off to a good start.

Probably the best tip I can give for keeping this a priority without it getting overwhelming is to time yourself. Right now, get up, set a timer and do the minimal things to get your area clean.

Ready? Go!

OK. You’re back. How long did it take? It takes me less than 5 minutes to make my bed, clear off my desk and put clothes in drawers. Five minutes! When you’re trying to motivate yourself to do it, it seems like it’s going to take at least three hours. Prove yourself wrong by timing yourself so that next time you’re tempted not to do it, you can remind yourself how little time it takes.

It really does make a difference. The picture above is of my nicely made bed on a sunny September day. Just looking at that picture makes me want to sit on the bed and write a letter, or read a book, or write blog posts for next week (or… look for jobs online).

For a comparison, here’s my unmade bed. What can I say, I’m a rough sleeper.

Now that I look at that picture, I’m thinking maybe the best reason to make your bed right away is so you aren’t tempted to crawl back in it.

Whatever your area, whatever your motivation, pick that most important area and go at it. You won’t regret it!

And that’s the end of a week of looking at the basics! In case you’ve already forgotten where we started, here are the topics we’ve covered this week:
* Introduction
* Spending time with God
* Running and exercise
* Drinking lots of water

Come back next week for new recipes and a new once-a-week series on how to use the Internet to your advantage!

1 Comment

Filed under the basics

One response to “The Basics: Keeping Your Area Clean

  1. Nice, insprirational post. I think I can spend 5 minutes….thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

