Monthly Movie Roundup: Regarding Henry Wins September

Starting today, I hope to implement a new feature that will take place on the last day of each month (unless the last day is a Sunday). Christian and I have a Netflix membership and generally watch one or two movies a week. We try to watch a variety of genres, so each month I hope to list the movies we watched and rank them based on how much I liked them.

This month we watched a lot of movies, partly because we love to and partly because Netflix has such a quick turnaround. We also took advantage of the “Watch Instantly” feature on Netflix. You can’t watch a lot of new movies online, but they have a lot of documentaries and movies from the 80s. It’s a good choice for a lazy Saturday afternoon. In the end, we watched six movies and about 10 episodes of House (which I didn’t include in my rankings because it’s automatically my favorite show ever).

Without further ado, here are this month’s movies, ranked from worst to best, with a short commentary on each.

6. I, Robot
I thought I would like this movie more than I did. I really like Will Smith, and the premise of the show was interesting, but honestly, we had just watched I Am Legend and it seemed really similar, only not as good. Sometimes Will Smith was really cheesy, and I guess I’m just not a big fan of robots. I rarely get bored during movies, but by the end of this one, I was more interested in playing with the dog than seeing if Will escaped the robot attacks.

5. Into the Wild
A good friend of ours recommended this movie mostly because of what it shows about relationships. The movie is based on a book about a true story of a young man who leaves his entire life behind to go “into the wild” in Alaska. The movie actually spends most of the time focusing on how he gets to Alaska, which was interesting, but made the story even more heartbreaking. It’s hard to say that I didn’t like it, because it was a true story, but I guess in the end it just left me feeling completely hopeless. That said, the cinematography was amazing, and the landscape shots are breathtaking.

4. Hellboy
Even Christian was surprised to learn that I really love superhero movies. I liked all the Spiderman movies, the Batman movies, the X-men movies… you know, superhero movies. Hellboy is kind of a superhero movie, but it’s got a little more drama and passion than most. The only reason this movie is ranked number 4 out of is because we watched some really good movies this month. Overall, this was a really fun movie, minus some of the super creepy parts.

3. The Kite Runner
I read the book this movie is based on several years ago, and ever since I heard they were making a movie, I wanted to see it. Christian thought it was going to be a chick flick, which is almost laughable. It follows a young boy who lives in Afghanistan as he leaves the country in the wake of the Russian invasion in the 70s. He eventually goes back to “redeem” himself to someone he hurt deeply. What is promoted as the theme of the movie is that “there is a way to be good again.” Theologically, I disagree, but the story is beautifully told and well-acted.

2. Once
Probably one of the strangest movies I’ve seen in a while. It’s ticketed as a musical, which I thought was odd, but it truly is. There isn’t really much of a plot, but I appreciated the lack of sexual overtones and the amazing music that is performed over the course of the film. When it was over, I immediately downloaded the soundtrack on iTunes, and I’ve listened to it over and over again since then. If you like music, people with foreign accents and movies that are kind of abstract, check this one out.

1. Regarding Henry
We were browsing the Netflix site looking for something to “watch instantly” when Christian exclaimed, “Oh my gosh, Regarding Henry!” It looked like a girly movie, so I was surprised he was familiar with it. Turns out it was one of his favorite movies growing up. That meant we had to watch it, which was not a burden at all. This is an incredible movie that stars Harrison Ford (in a very non-Han-Solo-like-role). It’s probably one of the sweetest movies I’ve ever seen, even though it was definitely made in the 1980s. You could probably even find this one at the library, so you could get some incredible entertainment for free. Do it.

I’ve already got some more episodes of House and the movie Beowulf for us to watch next, but leave a comment with suggestions for movies that you think Christian and I should watch next month!

8 Comments

Filed under monthly movie roundup

8 responses to “Monthly Movie Roundup: Regarding Henry Wins September

  1. Ah, Netflix. Marshall and I recently joined; we absolutely love it. Currently, we’re using it to watch Battlestar Galactica (the remade series). Marshall has been watching it for about a year now, and he’s getting me caught up in time for the few episodes. It sounds like a cheesy sci-fi show (the original was), but it’s actually an incredibly well-made dramatic series. The characters are deep and realistic, the plots are complex and exciting. As a caution, it does have some sexual content and language usage, but nothing overbearing. So I guess that’s not really a movie, but it’s still my suggestion. After all, probably most of the movies I would suggest you’ve probably seen.

  2. *Edit*
    “…in time for the FINAL few episodes.”

  3. I watched the first episode of Battlestar Galactica online and really enjoyed it.. I know Christian would like it, too. Maybe when we make it through five seasons of House we can move on to that. 🙂

  4. Lee

    Do you know anyone who can fix a hoover?! And did you see “Falling Slowly” peformed live at the Oscars…it was amazing. I have the soundtrack but haven’t listened to it in a while but heard the song on the radio today driving home. Glad I am not the only one who watched the movie “Once”! If I remember correctly, “Falling Slowly” won an Oscar for Best Song.

  5. Lee

    Oh, and how haunting was the self portrait shown at the end of “Into the Wild”?!

  6. Lee, clearly we have very similar tastes in movies! I’d be interested to know what else you like that you’ve seen…

  7. Lee

    August Rush was really good.
    Miss Pettigru Lives For A Day was enjoyable.
    Silk was a nice movie but I seem to remember brief nudity…nothing graphic though.
    Beowulf was pretty good.
    have you seen The Notebook?
    I have a hard time remembering movies I have watched. Oh, Definitely Maybe was good.

    By the way, do you like David Gray’s music? If you are not familiar with him, “Life in Slow Motion” is a great CD. He has some incredible lyrics.

  8. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless think of if you added some great images or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could certainly be one of the best in its field. Superb blog!

Leave a Reply

