Labels Aren’t Just For Nerds

Welcome to everyone who got here from Shannon’s blog! Kitchen management is the theme of this week’s Works-for-me-Wednesday. Check out Rocks in my Dryer for other great tips to staying organized in the most-used room of the house! And remember, if you like what you read, consider subscribing to my feed!

I don’t have kids or a husband, and the kitchen I use right now is really my mom’s. But for three years, I shared a kitchen with at least one roommate. And believe me, two 19-year-olds with grand cooking aspirations makes for one disorganized kitchen. We always had more food than we could eat, pots and pans we never used and we were also pretty terrible at doing the dishes. Thankfully, I think I’ve grown up a bit since then.

When I moved into an apartment with three roommates, things had to change. Especially when other people started eating my food (that is serious). And so I became a fan of labels. I would label my cheese, my leftovers, my drinks, etc. But probably the best way to use labels is… in the freezer.

How many times have you gone through your freezer (that’s a good question in and of itself, actually) and found meat that has been in there for approximately eight years? And also, you have no idea what it actually is – chicken, beef, pork? Keeping a permanent marker in your kitchen is a great tool for keeping up with what’s in your freezer. When you bring home a couple pounds of ground beef from the store, bag it up and label the bag with how much meat it is and the date you put it in there. Meat does last a long time in the freezer, but being able to “triage” your meat by using labels is one way you can make sure that when you open your freezer, everything doesn’t fall out on top of you.

Because trust me, that’s not pleasant. Even when everyting is labeled.

3 Comments

Filed under works-for-me-wednesday

3 responses to “Labels Aren’t Just For Nerds

  1. Labels are Great. They really do eliminate the guess work! Blessings, Whitney

  2. Yep, have to agree with the Sharpie concept! I have a rainbow of permanent markers, just waiting to me used. And yet I only use black.

  3. be. Apparently I don’t check my posts before hitting ‘submit’ either.

Leave a Reply

