Friday Fitness Diary: My Apologies, Boot Camp

I was tempted not to compile a fitness diary this week, because, honestly, there wasn’t much to compile. But typing out these thoughts each week really helps me focus more on choices I’m making, so I want to write even when I haven’t been as successful as I wanted to be.

Last Friday night I went to the gym to do some arms and abs workouts, and I also attended an hourlong pilates class. I felt very underqualified, but it ended up being a good workout (even though I had to do the “modified” version most of the time). I hope to go again at least once next week. Total time: 100 minutes.

That might sound productive, but then Monday happened. Today marked the end of the third week of boot camp, but I didn’t go Monday or Wednesday. Monday was a no-go because even though I got enough sleep, it was the first day of my new job, and I didn’t want to be tired the first day. Oh, how easy it was to switch the alarm from 5 a.m. to 6:30 a.m.! My job went really well Monday and Tuesday, so I planned to go Wednesday. But then I decided at the last minute to go to RUF downtown Tuesday night. I didn’t get into bed until about 11:30 p.m., and waking up in 5.5 hours was just not going to happen.

After work and dinner Monday, I did go to the gym and do the elliptical and some arm/ab work. I hadn’t tried the elliptical in several years and thought I would really dislike it, but I wanted to do cardio and I’m trying to give my shins a break. Surprisingly, I really liked it! It will definitely be something I do again. I wanted to go even longer than I did, but my dad was ready to go home. Total time: 40 minutes.

Wednesday night I had dinner with friends, and Thursday Christian came over right after work to eat dinner with my family, so I didn’t go to the gym either of those days.

This morning I did make it to boot camp, and it was clear that I hadn’t been there all week. I felt like I was lagging everyone else, although I did notice that I was able to do more push-ups than I normally do. Maybe the arm workouts outside of boot camp are really helping! Total time: 60 minutes.

I spent a total of 200 minutes exercising over the course of 7 days. That’s an average of 30 minutes a day, but since I only went to the gym three times, I feel like I could have done a lot better.

I have several goals for next week (that is, between after lunch today and next Friday morning:

  • Go to the gym two times outside of boot camp; include abs, arms, push-ups/sit-ups and cardio
  • Attend one group exercise class outside of boot camp (depending on class, could count for cardio/abs above); I want to do pilates, but I really miss Zumba!
  • Do my push-up and sit-up sets Saturday, Tuesday and Thursday
  • Incorporate a plank exercise and “bicycles” into my abs routine

I hope that setting these goals will help make next week’sfitness diary a little more substantial!

As far as weight loss, I only weighed myself three times since last Friday, so I want to give it another week of consistent weighing before I show you guys my awesome graph.

Fill me in on how you’re doing on your personal fitness. Was it a hard week? A week like mine? Do you feel you’ve reached a plateau?

I really love reading the comments you guys leave. It makes me feel like I’m not alone in trying to be healthy!

3 Comments

Filed under fitness friday

3 responses to “Friday Fitness Diary: My Apologies, Boot Camp

  1. This was actually a very interesting week for me. It was extremely busy – last week before fall break, plus I was leading a training class at work. I knew I wouldn’t have much time to work out, and so far, I have not spent a single minute doing exercise this week.

    The interesting thing? I’ve lost 2 pounds since Monday! After going to the doctor last week and again being told that I need to lose some weight, I decided that I really needed to alter my eating habits in addition to regular exercise. So I did some research and I started my own personal Weight Watchers plan. I’ve found all the information I need online, including a ready-made spreadsheet to use for journaling my food and counting points. So far, it’s been super easy for me, with only a little bit of calculating to determine how many points I’m eating. It’s been really great to have a system in place to help me control my portions and make wiser decisions about my food. I would be more than happy to share any of the information I have for anyone who is interested.

  2. @MC – I sent you an e-mail about your comment, but I am really interested in knowing more about how you found all the Weight Watchers information. I’m all about ideas that are health-focused AND frugal.

  3. Wow–I’m impressed! I haven’t even added exercise to my plan yet!!! Guess I have a long way to go!

Leave a Reply

