The Great October Blog Purge (Part 2)

If you missed last week’s explanation of my attempt to simplify my blog reading, check out this post.

I think my first purge last week really motivated me. All week I was ready to unsubscribe from blogs, but I held myself off so I would remember which ones I was unsubscribing from. So I could write this post.

I wish I could tell you how many times during the day I think This would be a great thing to blog about.

I think that means I need medication or something.

Clearly, I am obsessed with blogs.

Anyway, this week there are actually a few that I’ve been subscribing to for a long time, but I feel like I’ve reaped enough benefit from them for the time being.

I also have to add: I got two comments last week from people whose blogs I’d unsubscribed from, and I felt like the biggest jerk ever. I don’t mind the comments at all, but please know that I’m really trying to get you new subscribers by linking to you! Promise!

And now, with trembling fingers, I present the next five victims of the purge:

The “Blog” of “Unnecessary” Quotation Marks :: Bethany’s blog almost made me wet my pants the first time I saw it, and I’ve been reading for a long time. But with so many other blogs, I don’t even look at the pictures anymore. Sad, but true. If you’re a grammar nerd like me, you will love this blog.

The Passive Dad :: If you read my explanation from last week about personal finance blogs, you’ll understand why I’m getting rid of another one. The idea behind this blog is to promote “passive” ways of earning income; that is, income from blog ads or things that you don’t really have to spend time doing. I’m already doing a lot of this myself (and working on posts about some of the ways), and I just don’t have time for another blog about money. Sorry, Passive Dad. You seem really nice.

Girls Just Wanna Have Funds :: First of all, catchy name. That was what drew me there. They have a great blog geared towards women and personal finance, so…. yeah. Another personal finance blog (I kind of went through a phase, in case you can’t tell). They have a great carnival of personal finance they participate in that has lots of great links. You should check it out.

Conversion Diary :: I really, really want to have time to read this blog. She write deep, thoughtful posts and gets linked to by other people all the time. But I read a lot of blogs by moms and I have some favorites that I’ve had for a long time. Someone had to go. Unfortunately, it was Jen’s blog. But please, go and read some of her writing. I guarantee it will touch you.

Movie Pastor :: I went on a kick a year or so ago where I subscribed to a bunch of pastors. This one actually came on my radar due to something controversial that was posted. Since then, I’ve kept up with this church planter and his church in Alabama. I don’t necessarily agree with everything he types, but I think it’s important to know what other Christians are doing even if you disagree on certain points.

And just in case you’re wondering, I’m thinking in November I’ll highlight some of the blogs I make time to read because I love them so much. Stay tuned, though – I still have two more weeks of the purge.

3 Comments

Filed under great october blog purge

3 responses to “The Great October Blog Purge (Part 2)

  1. I can understand about needing to cut back on blog reading — something I should do as well. Sorry to see you go! God bless.

  2. Im sorry to see you go, hopefully you’ll be back soon when things get a bit more manageable. I love your writing style and informative posts so hey I’m subscribing LOL

  3. Thanks for not threatening to kill me, guys! There are just so many great blogs… not enough time for them all. I hope you get some new subscribers from my links, though!

Leave a Reply

