Bacon Zucchini and the Big Fight

I’m sad to say that Christian and I had a pretty big fight yesterday.

It all started on Saturday when we decided we wanted to make chicken fingers, spicy macaroni and cheese and some sort of vegetable for lunch on Sunday.

We went to Publix and decided on zucchini for our vegetable. At some point that evening I mentioned that we could use up some of the bacon we had bought for a previous recipe and put it in the zucchini. I was excited about this idea, because it revealed some sort of creativity on my part, something I’ve been hoping will appear as I cook more. Christian said that instead, we could put the bacon in the macaroni.

Fast forward to Sunday after church. I’m shredding cheese for the macaroni while Christian washes up some dishes. I asked him if he wanted to get together the other ingredients for the macaroni.

“Sure,” he said. “Should I start on the bacon?”

“Oh,” I replied, forgetting I hadn’t filled him in one what I was thinking. “I’d rather just make the macaroni according to the recipe. And I really want to put all of what’s left in the zucchini.”

I was chopping up cheese, so I couldn’t see his face. He didn’t respond. I thought nothing of it.

A few minutes later the bacon came up again, and I realized maybe I’d missed something.

“Are you really disappointed?” I asked him.

He nodded and proceeded to defend his idea that the bacon should go in the macaroni.

In the end, we put half in the bacon, and half in the macaroni.

So ended The Big Fight.

(When it was over, he said, “Do you realize how funny this would sound to someone else? That we actually fought about bacon? And it wasn’t even a fight?”)

Turned out that putting bacon in both was a good choice. It enhanced the macaroni, and it made the zucchini delicious. Not that I was surprised – can you really go wrong with bacon?

I think this was the best zucchini I’ve ever made, and I was especially excited that I came up with the idea myself. It’s a small start to cooking independence, but maybe it’s a sign of better things ahead.

Bacon Zucchini

6 slices bacon
2 large zucchini
1/2 sweet onion
2 cloves garlic
olive oil
salt
pepper
water

Cut bacon slices in half. Drizzle olive oil in large saute pan and heat on medium setting, then add bacon. Let bacon get crispy on both sides. Put paper towel on plate and use tongs to place bacon on plate to cool. Discard bacon grease, leaving a little bit in the pan.Turn heat off.

While bacon cools off, cut zucchini into thick slices, then into quarters. Dice onion and garlic.

Crumble bacon into pieces and add back to saute pan along with onion and garlic. Turn to medium heat.

When onions are soft, add zucchini to the pan. Pour about 1/2 cup of water into the pan (enough so that the bottom of the pan is covered). Add about 2 teaspoons each salt and pepper.

Stir frequently and let cook for 8-10 minutes, or until zucchini begins to soften.

1 Comment

Filed under in the kitchen

One response to “Bacon Zucchini and the Big Fight

  1. I think Marshall and I had a silly fight about where to put the can opener.

    Also, I developed a recipe for the best macaroni and cheese EVER. Seriously. I use Alton Brown’s Baked Mac and Cheese recipe as a base, but then I alter it, adding cooked bacon and peas. It’s an entire meal, horrible for any sort of weight-loss plan, and SO GOOD.

Leave a Reply

